Home Menu Search

Winners announced for the FirstCar Young Driver Road Safety Awards 2020

15 June 2020

The winners of the FirstCar Young Driver Road Safety Awards 2020 have been announced.

FirstCar launched these awards in 2015 to reward the unsung heroes in road safety, to recognise the excellent work of road safety professionals in seeking to reduce casualties amongst young drivers. They quickly established themselves within the road safety community and are highly sought after by the professionals working within the industry. They seek to reward excellence in the road safety industry for initiatives specifically targeting the higher-risk, young driver.

The awards period cover campaigns, which have run 1st January - 31st December 2019 and normally the awards are presented in person during the annual Young Driver Focus conference. Due to Covid-19, the event has been postponed this year and will now take place at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London, on 14 April 2021. 

The winners are:

  • Partnership Scheme of the Year - DrivingHub, Highways England
  • Private Sector Initiative - FloowCoach, The Floow
  • Partnership Scheme of the Year - UPS Road Code, UK Youth
  • Young Driver Media Campaigns  
  • Drive Like Gran’s in the Car, Road Safety Scotland, Transport Scotland and the Scottish Government
  • THINK! New Driver Campaign, Department for Transport

Separately, Mark Taylor from Surrey Fire and Rescue received the Outstanding Contribution to Young Driver Safety award.

James Evans, Founder of FirstCar, said: “We were delighted with the number and quality of entries this year and it is wonderful to see first-hand what great work is going on to help combat the danger young drivers pose to themselves and other road users. The amount of hard work that goes on in this sector never fails to astonish.’’

To book your ticket for Young Driver Focus 2021 please click here.

To watch James Evans discuss the award winners please click here.